Font size





Government of Gibraltar Logo Government of Gibraltar Logo

HMGoG Updates Coronavirus List of At-Risk Countries - 114/2020

February 25, 2020

On 11th February, the Government issued regulations under the Civil Contingencies Act to deal with the threat to Gibraltar from COVID-19. The regulations imposed a legal duty for travellers arriving in Gibraltar within two weeks of travel to an at-risk country to report to authorities on arrival.

Today, the Government has added to the list of at-risk countries that are covered by the regulations. Transit through any of the listed countries is also covered by the regulations. The list of at-risk countries is now:

  • China
  • Thailand
  • Japan
  • Republic of Korea
  • Hong Kong
  • Taiwan
  • Singapore
  • Malaysia
  • Macau
  • Iran
  • Northern Italy (defined by a line above, and not including, Pisa, Florence and Rimini)
  • Cambodia
  • Laos
  • Myanmar
  • Vietnam
  • Tenerife


Travel to these countries is not recommended, even for transit purposes.


Travellers who are currently in one of the at-risk countries listed above should report, as soon as possible and ahead of your return to Gibraltar, using the email address, with the subject line: self-isolation. You will be contacted by a Public Health professional who will advise you on the best way to protect yourself and others.


Upon return to Gibraltar, all travellers arriving from an at-risk country have a legal duty under these regulations to report to a Borders and Coastguard Officer if arriving by land or air, or an Officer of the Gibraltar Port Authority if entering by sea. Failure to co-operate will be imposed by regulation.


If you have already returned to Gibraltar from any of the at-risk countries in the last 14 days, even if you do not have coronavirus symptoms, you should immediately:

  • Call 111 to declare your recent travel
  • Self-isolate for a minimum of 14 days from the date of your departure