Governemnt of Gibraltar Banner
Law & Justice Print E-mail

The judicial system of Gibraltar is based entirely on the English system, except for minor modifications which are required because of its peculiarities.

legal.jpgThere is a Magistrates' Court presided over by a Stipendiary Magistrate or, in his absence, by lay Magistrates.

The Supreme Court of Gibraltar has a criminal jurisdiction similar to that of the English Crown Court, and a civil   jurisdiction which is equivalent to that of the English High Court.

There is also a Court of Appeal for Gibraltar, which is not resident, but holds three sessions each year. The Justices of Appeal are in the main, drawn from the English Court of Appeal.

In the Supreme Court, criminal trials are by Jury whilst in civil cases Judges usually sit alone. There are two Judges, one of whom is the Chief Justice, and so, head of the Judiciary.

The legally qualified Registrar of the Supreme Court also holds the office of Admiralty Marshal. The admiralty jurisdiction of the Supreme Court of Gibraltar is known in the shipping world internationally, and deals with a considerable volume of work. On account of the work of the Admiralty Marshal through the years, the Port of Gibraltar has a reputation as a good place at which to be arrested.

There are 98 lawyers at present practising in Gibraltar. Of the barristers on the Roll, 8 are Queen's Counsel. The Gibraltar Bar has a Code of Practice, and the affairs of the profession are administered by the Gibraltar Bar Council.

The legal adviser to the Crown is the Attorney General. He combines the functions of Attorney General and Director of Public Prosecution and is also an ex officio member of the House of Assembly. The Attorney General's Chambers have a number of Crown Counsel. There also exists a Legislation Support Unit, created for the purpose of legislative drafting, which is staffed by suitably qualified persons.

Copyright | Disclaimer | Contact | Site Map
IT&LD Logo   Information Technology & Logistics Department, Government of Gibraltar.