

Ministry of Culture, the Media, Youth and Sport

PRESS RELEASE

No: 337/2018

Date: 6th June 2018

SPRING FESTIVAL 2018 - SHORT STORY COMPETITION

The annual Short Story Competition organised by the Gibraltar Cultural Services on behalf of the Ministry for Culture in conjunction with the Gibraltar Chronicle attracted a total of 420 entries from children in School Years 4 to 13 and adults. The Minister for Culture, the Hon Steven Linares, presented the awards on Wednesday 6th June 2018 at 4.30pm at the John Mackintosh Hall.

A panel of judge's composed of Mrs Aida Delaney, Mrs Patsy Scott, Mrs Conchita Triay and Mr Charles Durante judged the competition.

In presenting the prizes today, Minister for Culture, Steven Linares said:

'The Short Story Competition was devised to incorporate an element of literature alongside the music, theatre, art and other aspects more traditionally linked to the Spring Festival. I would like to thank everyone involved in this venture, including the Gibraltar Chronicle and the judges. However, my biggest personal gratitude goes in particular to the many people who put pen to paper and in doing so allow us to enjoy their vivid imagination.'

The Prize winners are:

Adult Category

Winner: Elena Scialtiel - 'Teech, my name is Teech''

Runner-up: Jackie Anderson - 'Petals to the Wind'

Highly Commended: Colin McHard - 'Taken'

Highly Commended: Freddie Vasquez with 'The Decision'

Ministry of Culture, the Media, Youth and Sport HM Government of Gibraltar • City Hall • Gibraltar GX11 1AA t+350 20047592 (Centrex 2624) f+350 20047571 (Centrex 1989) e mcmys.info@gibraltar.gov.gi e mcmys.events@gibraltar.gov.gi w gibraltar.gov.gi



Years 12/13 Category Winner: Ana Sharma- 'Just Let Go' Runner Up: Melissa Whenlock – 'King'

Years 8/11 Category Winner: Carmen Anderson – 'Berry Bliss for Breakfast' Runner-up: Saif Reza Malik – 'Hope Beyond the Horizon' Highly Commended: David Lester– 'The Drawing on the Wall' Highly Commended: Sebastian Joseph Cassaglia – 'Prison Break'

Years 6/7 Category Winner: Iona Sacarello – 'My Fight' Runner-up: Steven Mark Gerrard – 'Don't Get Caught' Highly Commended: Tiana Cartwright – 'Before the Curtains Open'

Years 4/5 Category Winner: Sophia Povedano – 'A Time for Change' Runner-up: Isabelle Ramos – 'The Arrival' Highly Commended: Caitlyn Marie Bautista – 'What's the Noise?'